It’s none of my business

Posted on

Much has been made of the encroachment if not outright subsumation of Thanksgiving by Christmas.  Christmas music has been playing for weeks.  Christmas decorations have been out since August.  Now Black Friday, a day that traditionally comes immediately after Thanksgiving, is now during thanksgiving itself.  Thanksgiving has now become less about giving thanks and more about frenzied shoppers in a mad search for a holiday deal.  Yes.  It’s outrageous.  People lining up in the cold for the latest shallow bargains, employees asked to work on a holiday instead of spending it with their family, all for the latest greatest deal.  But you know what?  It’s none of my business.  So far as I am aware there is no coercion keep employees at their stores.  There are no laws dragging customers from their homes on Thanksgiving. Business aren’t reluctantly providing goods and services to an eager populous.  Am I going to stand in the cold and the crowds to look for useless and expensive stuff that I don’t want and need for people I barely like and love?  No.  I’m not.  I’m also not their daddy.  I’m going to go around telling people what to do on their holiday.  If they want to go to a store, work at a store, or own a store on a holiday they’re free do so.  I’m not going to provide a single thought or feeling about it.

3 thoughts on “It’s none of my business

    Kat Cooley, MSW said:
    November 24, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    As a matter of fact employees are being coerced into being there. Their livilhood depends on showing up to that store, holiday or no

      TheCentrist said:
      November 24, 2013 at 6:36 pm

      It’s true that I can’t guarantee there won’t be any coercion. There might be some “come into work or your fired” but I think there’s probably less of that than you might think. Imagine the publicity. Smaller employers might get away with it. There’s enough people desperate for a few extra hours that and people looking for temp work that they probably don’t have to work too hard to fill the shifts

    Micah said:
    November 25, 2013 at 12:49 am

    Summed up my feelings about Thanksgiving shopping exactly. I personally don’t like it and wouldn’t do it, but what are we gonna do, pass laws against it? It’s none of our business; if people would rather spend the day making and spending money than relaxing with their families, that’s up to them (there are other days people can get with their families too).

Leave a Reply

